[Book Review] In This Moment by Karma Brown @KarmaKBrown @parkrowbooks #WomensFiction #CanLit

**I’d like to thank the publishers for my copy via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review**

In This Moment by Karma Brown

My rating: ❤❤❤❤❤

Genre: Women’s fiction

Publisher: Park Row Books

Publication Date: May 30, 2017

Description

Meg Pepper has a fulfilling career and a happy family. Most days she’s able to keep it all together and glide through life. But then, in one unalterable moment, everything changes.

After school pickup one day, she stops her car to wave a teenage boy across the street…just as another car comes hurtling down the road and slams into him. 

Meg can’t help but blame herself for her role in this horrific disaster. Full of remorse, she throws herself into helping the boy’s family as he rehabs from his injuries. But the more Meg tries to absolve herself, the more she alienates her own family—and the more she finds herself being drawn to the boy’s father, Andrew.
Soon Meg’s picture-perfect life is unravelling before her eyes. As the painful secrets she’s been burying bubble dangerously close to the surface, she will have to decide: Can she forgive herself, or will she risk losing everything she holds dear to her heart?

What I thought
Can you imagine what it would be like to witness a life-threatening accident? Or better yet, what if you were the one receiving the news that your child has just been hit by car?

These are the images that Karma Brown so brilliantly paints! This is the first novel that I have read from this author and will certainly be reading more from her.

Have you ever had one of those days where strange things happen and it’s as if it’s the universe’s way of telling you something bad is going to happen?  That’s how this story begins which takes you on a journey of relationships, one woman’s guilt, and a grieving family.

Being a Canadian and fellow Torontonian, I was happy to learn that Brown and I share something in common and it was the perfect way to kick off Canada’s 150th!

The writing was excellent with characters who felt genuine.  I truly enjoyed living inside Meg’s head and going through the mix of emotions.

At first all I can see when I close my eyes is Jack Beckett, the aftereffects of the accident, and I’m not sure I’ll be able to sleep.

…It’s my fault

I wanted a break from all the thrillers I’ve been reading, and this was a very enjoyable read.  One that will be added to my list of picks 😊.

Have you read this book? Or any of Karma Brown’s other novels?

3 thoughts on “[Book Review] In This Moment by Karma Brown @KarmaKBrown @parkrowbooks #WomensFiction #CanLit

Leave a Reply

