[#BlogTour] Watching You by Gretta Mulrooney @JoffeBooks

I am delighted to be today’s stop on the blog tour for Watching You by Gretta Mulrooney.

Genre: Mystery & Thrillers

Publisher: Joffe Books

Publication Date: June 21, 2017

Description

Who is watching him and what does he want?

Two years ago someone kidnapped Thomas Maddox’s six-month-old son. The case has never been solved and the boy has never been found.

Now someone is watching Thomas and sending him dark emails.  And Thomas keeps suffering nasty accidents.

 

The police won’t do anything more, so Thomas’s wealthy grandfather hires Tyrone Swift to shed light on the case.

Can ex-police detective Tyrone Swift get to the bottom of this tangled web of family secrets and pain, and is there any hope of finding the child alive?

 

WATCHING YOU is a beautifully written mystery that will have you gripped from start to pulsating finish.

 

Perfect for fans of Robert Galbraith, P.D. James, or Ruth Rendell.

** EXCERPT **

They are suffering. They’re going to suffer more. Much more. I will rack up their fear as and when I want. The changes have been rung. Ding ding! This round is mine. It’s my finger on the misery switch now.

There’s no urgency. I’ve been subject to other people’s rules and whims for long enough. My old man. Foster parents. Social workers. Teachers. Care homes. ‘Move here. Move there. Do this. Don’t do that. Hurry up. Eat that. Leave that alone. Don’t you ever listen? Stop causing trouble. You’re a bloody nuisance. Waste of space.

’I’m in no hurry now. I’m in control. I can take my time and enjoy the process. If life is all about costs and payoffs, I’ve paid enough. Now it’s my turn for full payback. That means hard cash too. Sit back and enjoy. Sweet like honey.

I’ve thought this through for a long time. Researching. Planning. Slowly adding fuel to my anger. Relishing the resentment. The observing and waiting has brought its own rewards. 

Finally, I’ve reached the place where I can stake my claim. Even the score.

It’s satisfying to play the long game. Tease and change the rules and tactics when I feel like it. Watch them wriggling, agonising and wondering.

Sometimes I think I’ll never want the game to end because of the satisfaction I get. I know it has to one day. I’m not sure yet how I’ll trigger the end. With fireworks and a big bang, anyway. A grand finale. I’ll wait and see. I’m flexible. Imaginative. Patient. 

My life has been messy and unpredictable. Now they’re finding that their lives are. They’re discovering what it’s like to be scared and wondering what might happen next. To be in someone else’s power. Will that person be cruel to you or kind? Stroke your hair or slap your face? Feed you or keep you hungry? Let you in or lock you out? What mood will they be in today? 

The pleasure, the warm feeling deep inside comes from the watching. The anticipation. Playing another unexpected hand. 

Suffering and damage. 

They feel good. It’s all a bit of a treat. 

Sweet like sugar.

Author Bio
“I was born and brought up in London. My parents were Irish. I studied for a B.A. in English at The University of Ulster and subsequently a qualification in Social Work. I taught English in secondary schools, then worked in social care for many years.

I started writing for children in my thirties and had five books published with Poolbeg Press. My first adult fiction novel won a bursary from East Midlands Arts. My first published novel, Araby, was with Harper Collins, followed by Marble Heart. Robert Hale published the next three novels; Fire and Ice, Out of the Blue and The Apple of Her Eye.

I have had two short stories, The Old Master and The Gold Digger, commissioned by and read on Radio Four.

I have always been an avid reader of psychological thrillers and crime fiction and decided, in retirement, to turn to crime. I am currently working on releasing my fourth novel featuring private detective Tyrone Swift.”

grettamulrooney.com

One thought on “[#BlogTour] Watching You by Gretta Mulrooney @JoffeBooks

Leave a Reply

