[Book Review] Every Last Lie by @MaryKubica 

Every Last Lie by Mary Kubica

**I’d like to thank the publishers for my ARC via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review **

Genre: General Fiction, Mystery & Thrillers

Publisher: Harlequin (US & Canada), Park Row Books

Publication Date: June 27, 2017

Description

“The bad man, Daddy. The bad man is after us.”  
Clara Solberg’s world shatters when her husband and their four-year-old daughter are in a car crash, killing Nick while Maisie is remarkably unharmed. The crash is ruled an accident…until the coming days, when Maisie starts having night terrors that make Clara question what really happened on that fateful afternoon. 

Tormented by grief and her obsession that Nick’s death was far more than just an accident, Clara is plunged into a desperate hunt for the truth. Who would have wanted Nick dead? And, more important, why? Clara will stop at nothing to find out—and the truth is only the beginning of this twisted tale of secrets and deceit. 

Told in the alternating perspectives of Clara’s investigation and Nick’s last months leading up to the crash, master of suspense Mary Kubica weaves her most chilling thriller to date—one that explores the dark recesses of a mind plagued by grief and shows that some secrets might be better left buried.

My Review

I’ve heard so many great things about Mary Kubica.  So of course I jumped at the chance to read Every Last Lie.  Now I understand what the hype is all about!  Kubica has a way with words that intoxicates you from the start.  

It’s been a long time since I was this hooked on a book!  Yay! Happy dance.  

The last time I was this excited was Dan Brown’s The Da Vinci Code.  I would’ve finished in one night, but I couldn’t keep me eyes open any longer and the sun was starting to rise.

This book is narrated by alternating POV’s: Clara (the wife) and Nick (the husband).  The story starts off with Clara receiving news that her husband has gotten into an accident, and was DOA with her 4 year old unscathed.  As Clara is trying to piece together what really happened the day of the accident, she slowly unravels the secrets he’s been hiding.  Was it really just an accident? Or was he murdered?  Why had he kept things from her?

Just when I thought I had it all figured out, Kubica cleverly threw me back in a loop making me second guess my initial thoughts.

The characters were well developed and despite finding Clara a tad annoying at times, I absolutely loved this story.

My Rating: ❤❤❤❤❤

Have you read this book? Or any others written by Mary Kubica?  What do you think of this author?  Tell me your thoughts by leaving a comment ☺

6 thoughts on “[Book Review] Every Last Lie by @MaryKubica 

Leave a Reply

