[#BookReview] See What I have Done by Sarah Schmidt #HistoricalFiction #LizzieBorden #Crime


See What I Have Done by Sarah Schmidt

**I’d like to thank the publishers and Netgalley for my ARC in exchange for an honest review**

Genre: General Fiction, Historical Fiction, Crime

Publisher: Atlantic Monthly Press

Publication Date: August 1, 2017

Description

On the morning of August 4, 1892, Lizzie Borden calls out to her maid: Someone’s killed Father. The brutal ax-murder of Andrew and Abby Borden in their home in Fall River, Massachusetts, leaves little evidence and many unanswered questions. While neighbors struggle to understand why anyone would want to harm the respected Bordens, those close to the family have a different tale to tell—of a father with an explosive temper; a spiteful stepmother; and two spinster sisters, with a bond even stronger than blood, desperate for their independence. 

As the police search for clues, Emma comforts an increasingly distraught Lizzie whose memories of that morning flash in scattered fragments. Had she been in the barn or the pear arbor to escape the stifling heat of the house? When did she last speak to her stepmother? Were they really gone and would everything be better now? Shifting among the perspectives of the unreliable Lizzie, her older sister Emma, the housemaid Bridget, and the enigmatic stranger Benjamin, the events of that fateful day are slowly revealed through a high-wire feat of storytelling.

My Thoughts 

I’m torn with this one, because I REALLY thought I’d enjoy this one.  In fact, I was excited because it combines crime and historical fiction!  Two genres I love to read.  It  was a no brainer and should have been a winner. 

I had no previous knowledge of the Lizzie Borden case, so I walked into this intrigued and with a fresh pair of eyes.

The book was off to a great start where Lizzie finds her father’s mutilated body.  But as the story progresses, it gets a bit confusing.  Or at least it did for me.  I didn’t particularly enjoy the narrative.  It’s told from multiple points of views, which can make for a really great read.  However, this fell short of spectacular.  There was too much dialogue and it felt like all the characters were told in the same voice.  

Where I found myself confused was when the story kept going back and forth between the present and the past.  There were too many flashbacks if you ask me.  Whenever a character started to reminisce about their past and got lost in their thoughts, I too was lost and found myself having to backtrack. 
Unfortunately, I did not want to waste anymore time and did not bother finishing it. 

My Rating ❤️❤️

Have you read it? What did you think? 

3 thoughts on “[#BookReview] See What I have Done by Sarah Schmidt #HistoricalFiction #LizzieBorden #Crime

  1. Oh no, that’s a shame you didn’t enjoy this one. I loved it! I thought Lizzie was an incredible character 🙂 You were very generous to give it 2 stars even though you didn’t finish!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

