[#BlogTour] The Married Girls: Q&A with Diney Costeloe @DineyCost @HoZ_Books #HistoricalFiction

Hey everyone! I hope you’re all having a great week.  Today is my turn to host the blog tour for The Married Girls, and I am excited to have a Q&A session with Diney Costeloe.  Welcome Diney!


Please tell us a bit about yourself:

I’m a wife, mother and grandmother and am kept busy being all three. I’m a member of a golf club and I enjoy playing when I get the time. My husband and I still travel, and I can always take my work with me; all I need is my computer.

When did you know you wanted to be a writer?

I’ve written stories and poems all my life. Being a write is not something you decide to be, you just start to write and don’t stop.

Where did your inspiration to write The Married Girls come from?

It’s the sequel to my book The Girl With No Name and when I’d finished writing that I wanted to find out what happened next.

Who is your favourite character in the book? And why?

Probably Atticus Finch, a man of courage and integrity and a sympathetic father. There are others that would run him a close second.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                

What is your writing pet peeve?

The use of ‘like’ instead of ‘as if’. Fine in dialogue, but very annoying in narrative.

Is there a genre you want to try but haven’t yet?

Yes, I enjoy reading detective stories. Obviously some are better than others, but I’d like to have a crack at one someday. The trouble is you have to have such technical knowledge these days, it would be hard to start from scratch.

What is your favourite genre to read?

I don’t have a favourite as such. I read all sorts of things, mostly fiction, but what I choose depends on the sort of mood I’m in. Usually it’ll be a historical novel, a detective story or a complete one off. I belong to an on-line book club and recommendations I get from other members are always worth following up.

Who is your favourite author?

I have several, but if I had to name one I’d probably go for Jane Austen.

Do you have a favourite place to write?

I have a study where I can go and write uninterrupted, but very often if I’m on my own I write at the kitchen table…no good if the grandchildren are around!

Finally, what are you working on next?

That would be telling! I have got a work in progress, but I never divulge what in case I change my mind.

Well, thank you for taking the time to sit and chat with us!  The Martied Girls will be available May  4, 2017.

 

Genre: Historical Fiction

Publisher: Head of Zeus

Publication Date: February 17, 2017

Description:

The gripping new novel from the bestselling author of The Sisters of St Croix and The Girl With No Name.

The war is over, but trouble is brewing…
Wynsdown, 1949. In the small Somerset village of Wynsdown, Charlotte Shepherd is happily married to farmer Billy. She arrived from Germany on the Kindertransport as a child during the war and now feels settled in her adopted home.
Meanwhile, the squire’s fighter pilot son, Felix, has returned to the village with a fiancée in tow. Daphne is beautiful, charming… and harbouring secrets. After meeting during the war, Felix knows some of Daphne’s past, but she has worked hard to conceal that which could unravel her carefully built life.
For Charlotte, too, a dangerous past is coming back in the shape of fellow refugee, bad boy Harry Black. Forever bound by their childhoods, Charlotte will always care for him, but Harry’s return disrupts the village quiet and it’s not long before gossip spreads.
The war may have ended, but for these girls, trouble is only just beginning.

Purchase Links

Amazon | Book Bub | Kobo 

 

Leave a Reply

