[Book Review] A Trial In Venice by Roberta Rich #HistoricalFiction

A Trial In Venice by Roberta Rich (Book #3)

**I’d like to thank 

Genre: Historical Fiction

Publisher: Penguin Random House Canada

Doubleday Canada

Publication Date: March 14, 2017

Synopsis

The thrilling conclusion to the #1 national bestselling historical trilogy by Roberta Rich. 

In The Midwife of Venice, set in 1575, Hannah Levi was forced to flee Venice with the baby of a Venetian aristocratic family whom she rescued. Roberta Rich followed that action-packed adventure with The Harem Midwife, which exiled Hannah and her beloved husband Isaac to Constantinople–only for Hannah to become enmeshed in the shady politics of a sultan’s harem. And now, with A Trial in Venice, set five years later, Hannah is forced back to Venice–both to opulent yet crumbling villas and the Jewish ghetto known as Veneto. Her beloved adopted son Matteo has been kidnapped and is in danger once more. And this time, so is Hannah.

-Goodreads

My Thoughts

The first two chapters were off to a great start and I appreciated the fact that the author wrote it in such a way that you didn’t really need to read the first 2 books, even though I’m sure it would have helped fill in the gaps.  

The story begins with Hannah in prison and has risked not only her life, but the life of her unborn child to find Matteo who could possibly be dead.  However, once I got to the chapters about Cesca and Foscari, the details started to bore me and I suddenly lost interest.  

I really wanted to like this book, but unfortunately this just wasn’t my cup of tea, and I didn’t bother to finish the book.

My Rating: ❤️❤️

Did you read this book? What did you think?

Leave a Reply

