[Author Spotlight] Q&A with John Hunt || Doll House @JohnHuntFiction @brwpublisher


Today I am very honoured and thrilled to have a Q&A session with John Hunt, author of Doll House, which I read and enjoyed recently.

Hi John! Please tell us a bit about yourself.

I am a married father of four. I read a lot, listen to music a lot and when not working, spend my time with my family.

Where did the inspiration for the Doll House come from?

All of my ideas come from a scene in my head. Doll House was inspired by the Jen scene. A young woman trying to recover from something awful. Something most people wouldn’t come back from and to an extent, Jen never did. That scene played in my head and the book grew around it.

Who is your favourite character and why? (Mine was the Jackal)

 I liked Brutus the best. I am an animal person and I like to think I conveyed his personality quite well. Frank, as a natural suspect, was fun to write about and get the reader wondering.

How did you come up with the characters, the Gorilla and the Jackal? Why did you pick these two animals?

 The Jackal came from the Egyptian god Anubis. I liked the long ears and the regal cruelty in its aspect. The Gorilla was a disorganized person and I thought the shaggy main would portray that physically.

What is your pet peeve when it comes to writing?

Editing. I dislike it intensely.

What are you currently working on or working on next?

 I have four storylines in my head and they are all very well fleshed out. I am working on two at the same time. Murder and mayhem will ensue. One is about a boy, a dog and a robot. The other, well, the other is too hard to describe without giving it away.

Do you have a favourite spot/place you like to write?

I have a laptop that I lug everywhere. Mostly, I write when my kids are at school, in bed or at various activities which could mean I write anywhere so there is no one place. All I need is a computer and some headphones playing music and I’m good to go.

How long have you been writing for?
Late 2009, early 2010? The first short story I wrote, THE DINNER PARTY, I entered into the Spinetingler’s Anthology. It was a monthly contest and I won first place. It gave me confidence and from there, I wrote off an on depending on work and kids.

Do you write full-time? Or do you have another career outside of writing? 

I have a full-time career. I would love to be in the position to write full-time and (fingers crossed) maybe one day I can.

Lastly, what is your least favourite genre? 

That is a difficult question. I read pretty much everything except for romance, erotica, paranormal erotica or anything like those genres. I guess they could be considered my least favourite only I’ve never read them so can’t say if they are good or bad. Just something I’m not interested in.

Thank you for taking the time to sit down and chat with us.  It was a pleasure getting to know a little more about the man behind the book.

Author Links

Facebook | Facebook (Doll House) | Twitter | Blog | LinkedIn | Goodreads | Bookbub |

One thought on “[Author Spotlight] Q&A with John Hunt || Doll House @JohnHuntFiction @brwpublisher

  1. Pingback: [Author Spotlight] Q&A with John Hunt || Doll House @JohnHuntFiction @brwpublisher | John Hunt Fiction

Leave a Reply

