[Book Review] Doll House by John Hunt @JohnHuntFiction @brwpublisher #Mystery #Thrillers #Horror


Doll House by John Hunt

* I received a copy from the publishers via Netgalley in exchange for my honest opinion*

Genre: Mystery & Thrillers, Horror

Publication Date: January 19, 2017

Publisher: Black Rose Writing

Synopsis

Olivia is excited for university. She will be on her own, in a new place hopeful to meet new friends.

On the night she moves in, she is taken off the street by two masked men. She is placed in a room which is little more than a cell. A pink cell. A room made for a doll. She is now part of their collection.

Goodreads

My Thoughts

What should have been an exciting time in Olivia’s life, quickly turns into her worst nightmare.  

Olivia goes away for university and gets taken away by two masked men before she even makes it to her first day of class.

For five years, she is held prisoner in a pink room with furniture bolted to the floor where she is raped and tortured.  

This was a very gruesome and disturbing story..like something out of a horror movie.  We are quickly introduced to the Gorilla & Jackal.  The two masked men who enjoy inflicting pain by mutilating their victims and eating their body parts.

Initially I wanted to rate this book a 3 because of all the grammatical errors I found.  But the story was so intoxicating, I decided to give it a 4.  There were times I felt my adrenaline rush, but there were also times I found myself having to stop reading because it was starting to get inside my head.  This is definitely not for the light hearted.

For me, the best part was wanting to know if the Jackal would ever get caught and revealing who he was.  

The author did a great job of taking the reader through the emotional journey of Harry, Olivia and the Jackal. 

If you can handle the graphic nature of this novel, I highly recommend it.

My Rating ❤️❤️❤️❤️

Have you read Doll House? What did you think? If not, is this a book you think you would read based on the content?


2 thoughts on “[Book Review] Doll House by John Hunt @JohnHuntFiction @brwpublisher #Mystery #Thrillers #Horror

Leave a Reply

