[Book Review] #TheBoneWitch by Rin Chupeco

I received an ARC from Sourcebooks Fire via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Genre: YA, Sci-fi, Fantasy

Publisher: SOURCEBOOKS Fire

Publication Date: March 7, 2017

Synopsis

Let me be clear: I never intended to raise my brother from his grave, though he may claim otherwise. If there’s anything I’ve learned from him in the years since, it’s that the dead hide truths as well as the living.

When Tea accidentally resurrects her brother from the dead, she learns she is different from the other witches in her family. Her gift for necromancy means that she’s a bone witch, a title that makes her feared and ostracized by her community. But Tea finds solace and guidance with an older, wiser bone witch, who takes Tea and her brother to another land for training.
In her new home, Tea puts all her energy into becoming an asha-one who can wield elemental magic. But dark forces are approaching quickly, and in the face of danger, Tea will have to overcome her obstacles…and make a powerful choice.
Goodreads

My Thoughts

*Sigh* When I read the description for this book, I had high hopes and was super excited to get a copy.

The story had a really great start.  We are introduced to Tea, who turns out to be a Bone Witch and accidentally raises her brother from the dead.  Because this is shunned upon in her village, she ends up leaving with an older bone witch who trains her to become an Asha.

After the witch takes Tea, the story becomes slow..too slow for my liking.  Nothing really happens after that (no joke), which was disappointing.  I was expecting a much faster paced book about witches and dark magic. One that would be packed with action.  Instead, I got more of a story about Geisha.  Had I known this ahead of time, I wouldn’t have chosen this particular book. I also thought it was a bit too descriptive which made me lose interest.  Unfortunately, I did not end up finishing this book, which is a shame because I really wanted to like it.

It may not have been my cuppa ‘Tea’, but it could be yours.

My Rating

❤️

Have you read this book or any others from this author? Thoughts?

6 thoughts on “[Book Review] #TheBoneWitch by Rin Chupeco

Leave a Reply

