Author Spotlight & Giveaway: The Angel Alejandro by Alistar Cross

From bestselling author Alistair Cross comes a forbidden tale of love and redemption, of good and evil, and those who dare to stand up to Hell itself.

1. Please tell us a little about yourself. How did you get into writing?

I grew up in a small town in central Utah where very little happened, which, as it turns out, was very good for my imagination. I began writing at a young age and in 2012, about the time my first novel was published, I began doing author interviews on my blog as a way of meeting others in the field. There, I met one of my long time heroes, Tamara Thorne. We hit it off and have since collaborated on several projects including the successful serialized Gothic novel, The Ghosts of Ravencrest, the Amazon bestseller, The Cliffhouse Haunting, and the psychological thriller, Mother. My first solo novel, The Crimson Corset, was released in 2015, and features an appearance from Nick Grayson, who has a much larger role in The Angel Alejandro

I also host an hour-long horror-themed radio show with my collaborator, Tamara Thorne, called Thorne & Cross: Haunted Nights LIVE! where we mainly interview authors, but also paranormal investigators, and even occasional actors, psychics, and forensics experts. Our guests have included Laurell K. Hamilton, Charlaine Harris, Preston & Child, John Saul, V.C. Andrews (Andrew Neiderman), Kim Harrison, Christopher Rice, Richard Christian Matheson, Marie Lavender, Q.L. Pearce, Jay Bonansinga, and Christopher Moore.

2. How long have you been writing?

I started writing stories at about eight years of age.

3. Is writing your full-time job? Or do you do something else aside from writing?

I am very lucky to be able to write full time. Before that, I worked in warehouses, manufacturing, bookstores, and wherever else would have me.

4. What genres do you write about?

I don’t think about genre as I’m writing. I just write the book that wants to be written and stay true to the characters and their story. I believe that’s the key to not only keeping your own writing interesting, but to writing the best novels possible.

5. Who’s your favourite character and/or villain and why?
My favorite character in The Angel Alejandro is Gremory Jones – the villain. About halfway through this book I became so intrigued by him that I decided he needed another book so I could learn more about him. I’m working on that book now.

Gremory Jones, aka, the Dream Reaper, is a door-to-door salesman of a different – and darker – caliber. Mr. Jones has whatever you want and for a price, he’s more than happy to strike a deal. But when it comes to Mr. Jones, it’s important to remember to read the fine print. The devil, as they say, is in the details.

6. What’s your favourite book of all time?

Violin by Anne Rice. I don’t think I’ve ever read another book that cascaded grace and put me through the emotional wringer like that one did. I can only read it once every few years.

7. What’s your least favourite part about writing?

It’s incredibly difficult having to be creative all the time and once you open that floodgate, you’re in it for the long haul. Ideas come 24/7, and when you’re not writing, you’re thinking about writing. That’s incredibly exhausting after a few years, and I’m currently trying to learn to turn it on and off at will. So far, I’m not succeeding.

8. If you could offer new writers one piece of advice, what would it be?

The road to publication can be a long discouraging one, and that’s only the beginning. After getting published, the real work begins. It’s tough, but I believe that if you keep at it, commit yourself to honing your craft and make writing a priority, the right doors will open and you’ll get to where you want to be. But as it is in all things, consistency is key. Writing – and marketing – need to be done daily if anything serious is to come of it. Otherwise, it’s just a hobby.

9. Where did you get your inspiration and ideas for your current release (The Angel Alejandro)?

The idea for an angel with amnesia came several years ago – but that’s all it was: an idea with no legs, no backbone, and in this case, no wings! I moved on to other writing projects, and then one day a couple of summers ago, I saw a tall man walking down the street near my house. He wore a three-piece suit, carried a shiny black briefcase, and had a cigarette in an ebony holder clamped between his teeth. His hair, sunglasses, and shoes were as black as onyx and there was something decidedly mysterious about him and – in my imagination – ominous. I said to the person I was with at the time, “There goes my next villain,” and from there, the story began to unfold.

10. Which one of your pieces of writing are you most proud of and why?

I always feel the proudest of and most excited about whatever book I’m working on now.

Genre: Urban Fantasy, Paranormal Romance, Horror

Publication date: January 25, 2017

Synopsis:

Angel or Demon?

Naive and heart-stoppingly handsome, he calls himself Alejandro, and Madison O’Riley has no clue what to do with him. As they set out to recover his lost identity, Madison realizes the mysterious man who saved her life harbors deep, otherworldly secrets that will put her in grave danger.

The Devil is in the Details

Gremory Jones has something for everyone, and for a price, he’s willing to make a deal. Walking the streets in top hat and trench coat, he tempts the citizens with mysterious wares from his shiny black briefcase. But buyer beware: All sales are final – and fatal.

A Scorching New Terror Has Come to Town

The townspeople are changing in appalling ways and it’s up to Madison – with the help of a psychic, a local priest, and the new chief of police – to help Alejandro unlock his forgotten powers before an unspeakable evil tears apart the fabric of existence … and costs them their very souls …


Alistair Cross’ debut novel, The Crimson Corset, a vampiric tale of terror and seduction, was an immediate bestseller earning praise from veteran vampire-lit author, Chelsea Quinn Yarbro, and New York Times bestseller, Jay Bonansinga, author of The Walking Dead series. In 2012, Alistair joined forces with international bestseller, Tamara Thorne, and as Thorne & Cross, they write – among other things – the successful Gothic series, The Ravencrest Saga. Their debut collaboration, The Cliffhouse Haunting, reached the bestseller’s list in its first week of release. They are currently at work on their next solo novels and a new collaborative project.
In 2014, Alistair and Tamara began the radio show, Thorne & Cross: Haunted Nights LIVE!, which has featured such guests as Charlaine Harris of the Southern Vampire Mysteries and basis of the HBO series True Blood, Jeff Lindsay, author of the Dexter novels, Jay Bonansinga of The Walking Dead series, Laurell K. Hamilton of the Anita Blake novels, Peter Atkins, screenwriter of HELLRAISER 2, 3, and 4, worldwide bestseller V.C. Andrews, and New York Times best sellers Preston & Child, Christopher Rice, and Christopher Moore.

Website | Twitter Facebook

2 winners will be chosen to win a copy of The Angel Alejandro. Ends February 13, 2017.

Leave a Reply

