Author Spotlight | Meet Julie Gerber-Tortured Souls: The House on Wellfleets Bluff


1. Please tell me a bit about yourself

I am a nurse, but I haven’t worked outside the home in years. I have built a career that started with blogging. I created a business where I help authors run their social media and book promotions, and then I began publishing as well. One of my favorite things to do is beta read for authors and many of them are award-winning, best-selling authors! Some of my best friends are people I met online. I love the beach, reading, and spending time with my family. I have a Pekingese rescue and she never leaves my side.


2. How long have you been writing?

I’ve been writing a few years. I am working on my first solo book after co-authoring two books that were published in 2016.

3. Is writing your full-time job? Or do you have a career/job outside of writing?

Away We Go Media is the company I built, and that is my full-time job. I enjoy it so much, I am not sure I want that to change. I do enjoy writing when I can. I am also a nurse, but that is my backup plan. 

4. What is the most challenging or least favourite part of writing?

The most challenging part of writing are the distractions. I have two sons. When they are awake, it is almost impossible to focus enough on writing. When they are asleep, I am either tired from working all day or working on something else. I have to make myself write, but I do enjoy it once I get started.


5. Who is your favourite character and/or villain and why?

Don’t laugh. Pippi Longstocking. She has always been one of my favorites. She was a big part of my childhood so I hold her very near to my heart. I devoured those books and I loved that she was strong and could take care of herself. I loved that she wasn’t afraid to be herself. She was loyal and kind. 

6. What genre(s) do you write about?

I have written a paranormal book and a self-help book.

7.What is your favourite book? 

I have a few. I love Gone With The Wind, Pride and Prejudice, and The Chronicles Of Narnia. My favorite indie books are the Slow Burn series by Bobby Adair and Affliction Z series by LT Ryan. I love zombies and end-of-the-world/apocalyptic books. If I find a good one, I can’t put it down.

8.What advice would you offer someone new to writing? 

Avoid vanity publishers. Self-publishing is easy and will save you a lot of money. If you want to go with a traditional publisher, find someone that will pay you. It shouldn’t be the other way around. Also, don’t stop writing, but find a balance. If you don’t put any effort into marketing and promotions, don’t expect people to find your books and read them.

9. Please tell me about your current or upcoming release. 

I am a couple of chapters into my first solo book. I don’t have a release date, but I hope to have it out sometime this year. The book is loosely based on my great-aunt. She was one of the first female doctors in North Carolina and faced many challenges along the way. I have always been fascinated with her story.


Book Name: 

Navigating Indieworld: A Beginner’s Guide to Self-Publishing and Marketing Your Book

Book Blurb:

Social media guru, Julie A. Gerber and award-winning author of forty-three best-selling books, Carole P. Roman, team up to travel the winding road of self-publishing, promoting, and marketing a book. Join these two experts as they share their vast store of experience in an easy to read book.

Learn why you need a beta reader and the importance of a good editor. Make a list of what you need to do when choosing an illustrator. Compare the many ways to promote your book.

Navigating Indieworld will end up being your travel guide as you journey from writer to published author.

Book Release Date: August 31, 2016

Book Name: Tortured Souls: The House On Wellfleet Bluffs

Book Blurb: 

In some towns, the past is easily forgotten. Not in Wellfleet Bluffs. Lynne and Jason buy their dream house online and quickly move to the quaint little town. After unexplained events send them looking for answers, will they become a forgotten part of history or will they find the answers and help the ghosts of the past find peace?

Book Release Date: April 25, 2016

Website: http://www.awaywegomedia.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AwayWeGoMedia 

https://www.facebook.com/THEJAGERBER

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Awaywegomedia_

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/15215458.Julie_A_Gerber

Google Plus: https://plus.google.com/u/0/101471856155148729010

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/J.A.-Gerber/e/B01EXQSLFW/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

 

Leave a Reply

