Eating The Forbidden Fruit-Oral Allergy Syndrome (OAS)

Wrapped In Chaos

An apple a day, keeps the doctor away.

I remember being told this saying by my teacher in grade school. Well..in my case, an apple might actually cost me a trip to the doctor’s office!

I have what is called Oral Allergy Syndrome when I eat apples, peaches, cherries or any other pitted fruit. My mouth and tongue start to get itchy and tingly. Depending on which fruit it is, my lips will even get swollen.

What is Oral Allergy Syndrome?

It’s a reaction to the protein in raw fruits, vegetables, nuts and seeds. The reason for it’s name, is because it’s only limited to your mouth, lips, tongue and throat.

For those of us who have this condition, it usually happens right after eating the food and can last anywhere between 15 minutes to an hour or more. Thankfully, this is typically a less severe food allergy.

If you…

View original post 100 more words

Leave a Reply

