Fish Fridays 

I was born and raised Catholic, and grew up in a Jewish community.  Aside from learning to make and eat Matzo Balls, lox, bagel and cream cheese (yum), every Friday was Fish.  As an adult, I have forgone this tradition.  However, I still like eating all the above mentioned..especially fish and chips.  The best fish and chips I’ve ever eaten was in San Francisco at Fisherman’s Wharf.  

What’s my secret for frying? The WOK! A traditional Asian wok, not the shit you find at Walmart.  I’m Asian, so chopsticks are my utensil of choice for frying.   

In my attempt to recreate the best fish and chips, here’s my version:

Ingredients

• 3-4 large russet potatoes peeled (these are the best type for making fries)

• Haddock or Cod (I prefer cod)

• Olive oil for frying (or oil of your choosing i.e canola or vegetable)

• 2 cups of unbleached flour or rice flour for a gluten free option.

• 2 tbsp baking powder 

• 1 egg

• 3 tsp sea salt or pink salt

• 1/2 tsp of fresh ground pepper

• 1 can (12 ounces) of soda water or 1 cup of light beer if you want to make this beer battered.

Directions

1.  If using a deep fryer,  heat the oil to 325 degrees F.  

2.  Peel and cut potatoes into fries. Some people like to double fry the fries to get them crispy.  I usually skip this step.  Fry the potatoes for approx 2-3 minutes and remove from oil and drain excess oil from fries.

3.  Turn the heat up to 375 degrees F.   In large mixing bowl, mix flour, baking powder, salt & pepper.  Mix egg & soda water/beer in separate bowl then pour into flour mixture. Whisk until batter is smooth.  Coat fish with batter.

4.  Put fries on bottom of the basket, unless you have a double fryer and can put it in the second basket.  Fry fish and chips for 4-5 minutes until crispy and brown.

5.  Remove from oil and drain excess oil on paper towel.




Voila!  Fish and chips!

Do you have a favourite hotspot for fish & chips?  What type of fish do you like to eat? What is your favourite way to eat it? Fried? Baked? Steamed?

3 thoughts on “Fish Fridays 

  1. Sorry this is late once more, WordPress has just listed this post on my system! I am originally from the home of Fish and Chips…Grimsby! As a result I was spoiled as far as fish is concerned. You picked the best in choosing Cod I have to say, nothing beats the fluffy white flakes of Cod fillet in batter. I have since moved so don’t get fish as fresh as I used to. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

