There’s always room for dessert!

Belgian Waffles with fresh strawberries and ice cream.  Yum!

If you haven’t already noticed, I have a serious sweet tooth.  Waffles are really simple and easy to make.  Even my 10 year old can make them without my help.

What you need:

• a waffle maker

• fresh strawberries (I like to buy local when available)

• olive oil to grease waffle maker.

• 2 cups of unbleached flour 

• 3-4 tbsp of melted butter

• 2 cups of milk

• 2 eggs

• 2 tbsp of cane sugar

• 2 tsp of baking powder

• 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract

• 1/2 tsp. sea salt or pink salt

• vanilla ice cream of your choice.  I usually go to a local ice cream bar where they make their own ice cream.

• Maple syrup (optional) and/or confectioners sugar for dusting.  I live in Canada, so I am fortunate to be able to get locally made maple syrup.

Recipe Directions:

 Cook time – 3 min. 

1.  Preheat waffle maker.

2. Mix dry ingredients in a large bowl. 

3. Add wet ingredients and mix until well combined.

4. Pour mixture onto waffle maker, a bit at a time (approx. 1/2 a cup)

5. Dust confectioners sugar on waffle and add toppings!

Enjoy!

Do you like waffles? What’s your favourite dessert? 

12 thoughts on “There’s always room for dessert!

  1. Hello Princess, I once travelled north to Scotland and had a fabulous and different dessert called Cranachan. It is an alternative to a trifle and consists of toasted rolled oats in a whisky and honey infused whipped cream, served in a dessert glass with shortbread biscuit fingers and raspberries. Unbelievably good.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I *did* notice you have a serious sweet tooth (all those cookie recipes!). I love making waffles for my family. I made a huge batch on new year’s day and froze some of them so my kids could enjoy them again this week. I was just thinking about having them with whipped cream and fruit instead of the butter and syrup my husband and kids like. One thing I wanted to ask — I have to toast the waffles when they come out of my waffle iron, otherwise they’re soft like pancakes. Am I maybe just not cooking them long enough in the iron, do you think?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

