Sex and the City: Book vs TV Show


I love, love, loooove this show.  It’s my favourite and one of the few shows I can watch over and over again.

For the book on which it’s based, the series follows the lives of 4 single Manhattan ladies: Carrie Bradshaw, a sex columnist, and her three friends-Miranda, Charlotte & Samantha. It’s a funny and well-written show that explores sex and relationships of New York women.

Because of my love for the show, I wanted to read the original story which is written by Candance Bushnell.

I found the novel to be incredibly disappointing.  Perhaps my expectations were to high? I don’t know.  To me, it was literally like bits and pieces of her essays/columns put together in a book.  Unlike the show, Carrie’s relationship with Big is vague and all over the place. There isn’t any explanation as to why they break up, nor do you get the sense that things aren’t working out.

Having said that, reading the book is a waste of time and not one that I would recommend.  But I would HIGHLY recommend the show!  So if you haven’t watched it already, GO watch it!!

Leave a Reply

