MISS PEREGRINE’S HOME FOR PECULIAR CHILDREN 

  

Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

It stared back with eyes that swam in dark liquid, furrowed trenches of carbon-black flesh loose on its hunched frame, its mouth hinged open grotesquely so that a mass of long eel-like tongues could wriggle out.

Rating: 4 out of 5

What it’s about:

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.
Goodreads

Ok. Confession: I’ve been holding on to this book since it was first released, but didn’t get around to reading it till last September.

I wish I had read it sooner and have yet to get my hands on the other 2, Hollow City & Library of Souls.  Having said that, I really enjoyed this book..No.  Actually, I loved this book!  In fact, I’m totally stoked it’s being turned into motion picture which comes out in theatres on September 30, 2016.  I’m a fan of Tim Burton’s movies and can’t wait to see the movie adaptation.

My favourite part of this tale, were the photographs.  They remind you of circus freaks from back in the late 1920’s.  I thought it was a clever  move for the author (Ransom Riggs), to use these photos to create the story.  At first, I was expecting it to be a hair-raising novel about ghosts and demons.  So I was a little disappointed that it wasn’t, which is why I didn’t give it a full 5 star rating.  Still, it was a good read. One worth recommending.

Leave a Reply

